Author Topic: Materialism: The "What have you bought?" Thread  (Read 290939 times)

Offline SEMTEX

• General Member
Re: Materialism: The "What have you bought?" Thread
« Reply #5425 on: Tuesday 5 January 2021, 04:22:18 PM »
Is it worth looking at UV 3D printers or is it still best to go for an exstrudel?  Considering getting a cheapo Aliexpress one for sub 200 quid just to p*ss about with, maybe print some disc golf markers.

It's fair to say I'm far from an expert on the subject. I got a Prusa Mini on the basis of some romantic Prusa YouTube videos. And I think the UV printers are more for precise figurine kinda work, no?

I like it, and I've been doing all sorts of pointless s*** with it. But I'm not sure if there's value in the "premium" Prusa brand over the chinesey options. Either way you're gonna be thrown straight into the fire and have to work out how to troubleshoot. Maintaining this thing is an absolute f***ing ballache.

Offline BlueStar

• General Member
« Reply #5426 on: Tuesday 5 January 2021, 04:45:57 PM »
Yeah, constructing them seems a pain in the arse, the UV ones are for smaller stuff but seem to have less stuff to assemble and/or go wrong.

Offline POOT 2.0

• General Member
  • Release notes: Minor improvements and bug fixes!
« Reply #5427 on: Tuesday 5 January 2021, 05:48:41 PM »
The only things stopping me buying a UV printer was the resin smell around my old place. I went with the normal extruder type and modded to direct extrusion etc.

I might get a UV one, as I'll just keep it in the new garage. More accurate, quicker (I think), and even cooler :lol:

Offline TBG

• King of GIF. WHAT?
  • General Member
« Reply #5428 on: Wednesday 6 January 2021, 12:41:17 PM »
Now got my eye on a knock off LEGO (LEPIN) Super Virginty Destroyer.

Offline SEMTEX

• General Member
« Reply #5429 on: Wednesday 6 January 2021, 12:57:06 PM »
All,