Author Topic: The Great Outdoors  (Read 72315 times)

OpenC

• NN953999
The Great Outdoors
« on: Sunday 19 June 2011, 04:41:24 PM »
We don't seem to have a walking or outdoors stuff thread, and I find myself in need of wild camping advice.  I love my walking in Scotland, but I hate staying in hotels and B&Bs so I've equipped myself with a tent and sleeping bag and am intending to head up in the next few days to try out the wild camping experience.

I've never done it before, though, and I've got no idea how it works.  So..

1. Can you just pitch up anywhere you like in Scotland?  Or do you officially have to park up somewhere then take the tent away from the road?  Don't want to get moved on in the middle of the night.  I don't intend to light any fires or make any noise, just have a sleep and be away by seven bells the next morning.
2. More importantly, can anybody recommend anywhere within about an hour of Fort William, North or South (or East), to pull over and pitch?  I'll be going up via Callander, Lochearnhead and Crianlarich, but could go the Perth/Crieff way if it helps.  Glen Etive before Glen Coe looks OK, but it always seems to be already full of tents by the time I get there.

Cheers :)

<predicts zero responses>
« Last Edit: Sunday 25 January 2015, 09:03:49 PM by OpenC »

Re: Wild Camping and The Great Outdoors
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 19 June 2011, 04:46:34 PM »
tried starting threads like this before- they are lost on these townies.

hoping to get away with the boy sometime soon, but im taking camper conversion on a site, - was thinking of wild camping for a night when we all stay in the lakes- cottage or caravan in school holidays. I was planning on a night on the beaches of Ullswater.

« Reply #2 on: Sunday 19 June 2011, 05:10:35 PM »
The only camping I've done recently was in the middle of winter up at Kielder for an astro-imaging get together. Everything had a layer of frost over it but continued to work. I was warm enough with all my layers.